top of page
Search
  • taydisharoon

Last Hurrah

After Dunlap's Conference sweep, expectations were high for sectionals. Especially since we had an undefeated season against those we played in our sectional bracket, as well. But this week was different than last week: the wind had picked up 10-15 mph and the temperature had dropped about 20 degrees. Sectionals was going to be a different playing field.


We got 3 solid days of practice before the big tournament and celebrated our last practice of the season on the third day. It was especially emotional for our seniors since it was not only our last practice of the season but our last practice ever. But we were happy to even be able to be this far in the season since it was not promised at the beginning of the year.


During the week, we received our seeds and draws. All four of our entries (2 singles and 2 doubles) were seeded in the top four for their respective brackets. The singles players had the one and two seeds, and the doubles teams had the two and four seeds. This was a good way to head into the tournament, but nothing was guaranteed. We still had to work to earn our spots.


Friday finally arrived, and the Eagles were prepared. We left school early and headed to Geneseo, our sectional site. Since state had been canceled earlier, this was our last tournament of the season. But we were heading into it with good seeds, practice, and years of experience behind us. We were just hoping that would be enough.


The first day went exceedingly well. All four entries won both of their matches, which put us in all of the semifinal matches on Saturday. This was a rare and exciting feat: having an entry in every match on Saturday. It gave Dunlap the guaranteed team win, no matter how the matches went. We were excited about that, but we still had individual goals. So, on to day two, we went.


Saturday's weather was worse than the previous day. The temperature dropped even further, and the wind picked up even more. Conditions were not ideal, but as they say, it was the same for everyone.


Our first matches started at 9 am sharp. Mine was against who I would consider to be my toughest opponent during the season, a girl I had played twice previously, and both matches had been close. My start was slow. I lost the first set badly and was trailing in the second. I was almost ready to accept my loss, but not quite.


I looked around at my team. Emily, our other single's player, was on the court next to me. This was our fourth year playing together. Maggie and Regan, also seniors, were on the court across from me. Shikha and Mary, our youngest teammates, were playing next to them. I knew they were all rooting for me, just as I was for them, and I decided this wasn't how I wanted my senior year to end. So, I battled back.


Several games later, I won the match, in three sets. I would advance to the finals. As would Emily, Shikha, and Mary. Maggie and Regan would play for third place.


The afternoon rolled around and the final matches went on. Doubles playing for first and third, and both Eagle's singles players playing for the gold. My last match as an Eagle would be against my own teammate.


Our match was cold, windy, and relatively short. I finished with a 6-1, 6-0 win. I was happy about the victory but sad that it was over. Now it was time to cheer on my teammates.


Maggie and Regan won their match, so they finished third. We were ecstatic for them to upset the 3 seed, and to win their last match.


Shikha and Mary had a tougher match. They lost, in 3 close sets, to the 1 seed. However, they both will have another opportunity next year, and I'm sure they will have a great season.


That's it for Dunlap tennis! Our season has come to an end, wrapping up with our "last hurrah," a sectional win.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page